24/7 365

(928) 774-5231



Weather Updates

Latest News

Northern AZ News

Independent Redistricting Commission Creates Large Congressional District 2, Which Includes Prescott, Flagstaff And Six Tribes

Arizona’s Independent Redistricting Commission unanimously approved new boundaries for the state’s Congressional districts Wednesday. Census 2020 helped reshape Congressional and legislative districts around the state and locally with county supervisor districts. The biggest shakeup with Congressional districts is Congressman Paul Gosar’s District Four will be swallowed up by Congressional District One to actually become CD 2, or Congressional District Two. The district is the largest district by miles and stretches from the Arizona-Utah border to the north to San Manuel to the south. The district also stretches from the Arizona-New Mexico west to just west of Bagdad. The district includes Flagstaff, Prescott, Winslow, Holbrook, The White Mountains, the Navajo Nation, as well as the White Mountain Apache, San Carlos, Hopi, Hualapai and Havasupai nations. If Gosar wants to continue to be a Congressman in Arizona beyond 2022, he may have to beat current CD 1 Congressman Tom O’Halleran, if both get through the primary. Legislative districts are expected to be approved sometime Wednesday.