Get KAFF News Email


Northern Arizona News

KAFF NEWs Twitter

Northern Arizona News


Weather Updates

Coconino Sweeps Football Coach, Player And Offensive Region Player Of The Year Honors

The Coconino Panthers football team won their second straight 4A Grand Canyon Region title this season and have taken home numerous region honors. Head coach Mike Lapsley was named Region Coach of the Year, running back/linebacker Manuel Cardoza was Region Player of the Year and running back Zach Bennett was named Region Offensive Player of the Year. Panthers making the first team include Bennett and Cardoza along with lineman Xavier Nakai, running back/linebacker Tyson Fousel, lineman Matias Ortiz, linebacker Jonathan Padilla, defensive back Andy Ruiz and defensive back Jacob Begay. The Flagstaff Eagles netted four players on the region’s first team. Lineman Brandon Shirley, wide receiver Ryan Tagle, running back Luis Jaramillo and defensive lineman Nick Morrow made the team. The Panthers take on the Cactus Cobras Friday in the 4A quarterfinals.

Other players honored:


Second team: lineman Seanan Kelly, wide receiver/kick returner Jace Wetzel, quarterback Morgan Bewley, linebacker Collin Doucette, linebacker Spencer Smith.

Honorable mention: offensive lineman Ares Van Nes, defensive lineman Lance Smith, linebacker Kevin Edwards, defensive back Dan Woods, defensive back Zach Morse.


Second team: offensive lineman Kylor Dunlap, offensive lineman Quinn Mickelson, tight end Matias Ortiz, linebacker Pierson Watson, defensive back Jacob Clouse, defensive back/running back Malcom Morris, kicker Jesus Trejo.

Honorable mention: offensive lineman Logan Benedict, quarterback Ryan Seerly, defensive lineman Nick Valdez, defensive back Trevor Sevier, linebacker Cooper French.


Get KAFF News in your Inbox!